Many aspirants for CLP, PAC Chief Posts

Hyderabad: Political heat is gathering momentum in TPCC for the post of Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader and Public Accounts Committee (PAC) chairman posts. The reason for this is that both the posts carry cabinet rank in the state.
When it came to the CLP post, it is widely speculated that the present TPCC president N. Uttam Kumar Reddy might be elevated to the CLP post. The party leadership is expected to ask him to resign from the TPCC president’s post before appointing him as the CLP leader. In case Reddy is asked to continue in the TPCC post, then the party leadership is likely to consider other names for both the Legislature posts. Interestingly, several senior leaders of the party are lobbying for the two posts.

The front runners among the leaders are TPCC working president Mallu Bhatti Vikramarka, former ministers D. Sridhar Babu and Sabita Indra Reddy. It is learnt that Mallu, a third time MLA, has already met with several top leaders of the party and urged them to appoint him as the CLP leader. Similarly, Sridhar Babu is also leaving no stone unturned to bag the top post. Sabita Indra Reddy is urging the party high command to appoint her to the post under woman’s quota. She is also urging the party high command to consider her name for the PAC chairperson’s post if it was not possible to give her the CLP leader’s post.

On the other hand, leaders like K. Rajagopal Reddy and T. Jayaprakash Reddy are also making a strong pitch for the CLP and PAC chairman posts. The AICC has appointed senior party leader Venugopal to look after the selection of the CLP leader. He has already made an announcement on the issue and said that the election of the CLP leader would take place on January 16, a day before the first meeting of the State Assembly. More clarity over the issue is likely to emerge only after the election of the CLP leader. However, the aspirants of the two posts are keeping their fingers crossed until the D-day.

There is also speculation in the party over the next TPCC President. Many leaders are in the race for the post.