Two new districts come into being in Telangana

Hyderabad: The number of districts in Telangana rose to 33 with two new districts coming into being on Sunday.

A final notification was issued by the Revenue Department about the creation of two new districts – Mulugu and Narayanpet.

While Mulugu has been carved out of Jayashankar Bhupalapally district, Narayanpet came into being with the division of the existing Mahabubnagar district.

This followed demands from the local people.

The in-charge district collectors of the two new districts on Sunday inaugurated the collectors’ offices. Local public representatives attended the functions.

Telangana had 10 districts when it came into being as India’s 29th state on June 2, 2014, after it was carved out of Andhra Pradesh.

In 2016, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) government reorganised Telangana to create 21 new districts.

Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao said smaller districts would help in better administration as they could have a better focus on the implementation of development and welfare schemes.