TS Election Results: Mumtaz Ahmed Khan wins from Charminar constituency

HYDERABAD: All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) MLA Mumtaz Ahmed Khan wins from Charminar constituency, as per media reports.

70-year-old khan is a five-time MLA of Yakutpura, largely Muslim-dominated constituency.


In the 2014 elections, the most senior MLA won with a margin securing 66,391 votes as against BJP’s Ch Roop Raj, his nearest rival who got 32,420 votes.

The much-awaited results of the severely fought Telangana Assembly polls which saw a political battle between Prajakutami and AIMIM.

[also_read url=”https://www.siasat.com/news/ts-election-results-akbaruddin-owaisi-wins-chandrayangutta-constituency-1444093/”]TS Election Results: Akbaruddin Owaisi wins from Chandrayangutta constituency[/also_read]

Celebrations began here as it became clear that the Telangana Rashtra Samithi’s (TRS) was heading for a landslide victory in the Assembly elections.

Holding pictures of TRS President and Chief Minister K. Chandrashekhar Rao, party workers gathered at the Telangana Bhavan raising slogans of “Jai Telangana” and “KCR Zindabad”.

They also burst firecrackers, distributed sweets, while some other enthusiastic workers, including women, were seen dancing.