Telangana Assembly Polls: Congress releases first list of candidates

New Delhi: Congress Party has finally released the first list of candidates contesting for Telangana Assembly polls slated for December 7.

The candidates list during the marathon meeting of party’s Central Election Committee (CEC). The meeting was attended by all Congress leaders and was headed by party chief Rahul Gandhi.

Telangana State party chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy will contest from the Huzurnagar constituency.

The list was released late on Monday night by CEC General Secretary Mukul Wasnik.

The opposition party is trying to reach an understanding on various seats with Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) – a former ally of the ruling NDA to win over the upcoming elections.

TDP walked out of the alliance after the NDA ruled centre refused to grant special status to Andhra Pradesh, NDTV reports.