KCR announces four nominees for MLC polls, leaves one to ally MIM

Hyderabad: Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao today announced the names of four leaders for upcoming MLC polls in Telangana State on March 12 with the Election Commission announcing notification for the same.

Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao announced the names of four candidates and reportedly decided to spare one the TRS ally MIM to keep intact the poll alliance. The four candidates for MLC posts under MLA quota for the forthcoming polls on March 12 are: former MLA Satyavathi Rathod, Home Minister Mohd Mahamood Ali, State Kuruma Sangham president Yegge Mallesham, State MBC Corporation Chairman Sheri Subhash Reddy of the TRS. Five MLC seats going to be vacated will soon be filled by the polls as per EC schedule.

Nominations will be accepted till February 28, scrutiny on March 1, withdrawals on March 5 polling will be conducted on March 12 from 9 am to 4 pm. Polls results will be declared on the same day followed by counting of the votes polled. The polls for five MLC posts were necessitated with retirement of Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy, Shabbir Ali, T Santhosh Kumar, Mahammed Salim and Mahamood Ali.