BMC polls: MNS chief Raj Thackeray casts his vote

Mumbai: Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) chief Raj Thackeray on Tuesday cast his vote for the 2017 Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC).

Earlier today, Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) chief Mohan Bhagwat also cast his vote at a local school in Nagpur.

However, Bharatiya Janata Party Leader (BJP) Shaina NC had to face some difficulties as she could was unable to find her name in the voter’s list. But she was later able to cast her vote after the authorities helped her with the formalities.

The local body polls would be witnessing a high pitch battle between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Shiv Sena, the Congress, the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena ( MNS) and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Notably, the Shiv Sena, an ally of the BJP at the Centre and as well as at the Maharashtra Government, will be facing off with the latter after Uddhav Thackrey decided to part ways for the BMC polls.

Meanwhile, police has tightened security across the city ahead of Mumbai Municipal Corporations elections and are maintaining a strong vigil to avert any untoward incident across the 7,304 polling centres.

Polling for 227 seats of Municipal Corporation of Greater Mumbai will be held between 7:30 am and 5:30 pm where a total of 17,331 candidates are in the fray for 3,210 seats in 10 municipal corporations.

In order to prevent last minute luring of voters, Mumbai Police also conducted combing operations and checked vehicles with the help of flying squads of the state Election Commission. (ANI)