Sunday , August 20 2017
Home / News / Hyderabad / Venkaiah hails KCR for launching work on two bedroom houses for poor

Venkaiah hails KCR for launching work on two bedroom houses for poor

Union minister for urban development M. Venkaiah Naidu has said some 100 cities in the country were selected under Smart City Scheme and 20 of them will have chance of getting funds from the Centre for development in the first phase.


The Union minister inaugurated the Centre-sponsored “Heritage City Development Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) scheme in Warangal on Sunday morning. He also unveiled a pylon on the premises of the Thousand Pillar Temple. Besides, the Union minister performed “Bhoomi puja” for the Bhadrakali Temple Tank Bund works for which Rs 15 crore were sanctioned.

Speaking on the occasion, Venkaiah Naidu said Prime Minister Narendra Modi conceived and announced schemes in order to help improve functioning of municipal bodies in towns by taking up modernization and beautification of towns and provision of basic facilities. As part of his scheme only, the Swatch Bharat program was launched, he added.    He called upon the people to take active part in the cleanliness program.


Stating that the Centre has started “houses to all” scheme, Venkaiah opined that the gigantic housing program would be successful only if both the Centre and States put in joint efforts. He said the Telangana government was working towards that end and complimented Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao for launching housing program with the target of completion of houses by 2022.  


The Union minister said out of 12 historic and heritage related towns were selected under Smart Cities scheme in the country, two towns in the two Telugu States – Amaravathi in Andhra Pradesh and Warangal in Telangana – were picked. He also disclosed that the NDA government has sanctioned three major schemes for the Greater Warangal Municipal Corporation to make it No 1 in the developed cities in the country.


Deputy Chief Minister Kadiam Srihari, MPs Gundu Sudharani, Sitaram Naik, MLAs Dasyam Vinay Bhaskar, Errabelli Dayakar Rao, district Collector Vakati Karuna, Municipal Corporation Commissioner Sarfraj Ahmed and others were present. (NSS)