Wednesday , August 23 2017
Home / News / Ashwin named 12th man in ICC Test team of the Year

Ashwin named 12th man in ICC Test team of the Year

Dubai: Indian premier spinner Ravichandran Ashwin has been named as the 12th man in the ICC Test team of the year, while England’s Alastair Cook is named captain of the team for the second time in his career.

In addition to Cook, the list includes two other Englishmen in Stuart Broad and Joe Root. This is the fifth time since 2009 that Broad has been selected in the Test team of the year having previously been included in 2009, 2011, 2012 and 2014. For Cook, this is his fourth selection.

Steven Smith is one of three Australian players selected alongside opener David Warner, for the second successive year, and pace bowler Josh Hazlewood. There are also three Pakistan players in the panel; Younis Khan, wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed and leg-spinner Yasir Shah.

New Zealand duo Trent Boult and Kane Williamson make up the starting team.

The ICC on Wednesday announced its Test team of the year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by its Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. (ANI)