Zor Ka Jhatka: AAP wins #BawanaByPoll, big setback for BJP

Zor Ka Jhatka: AAP wins #BawanaByPoll, big setback for BJP

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party has defeated BJP, Congress and has retained the Bawana assembly seat with as big as 24053 votes in Delhi today. He would be a booster shot for Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. Delhi’s ruling party has won a by-election for the seat by over 24,052 votes, leaving behind the BJP and the Congress, which had hoped to enter the Delhi assembly as it ran neck-and-neck with AAP in the early rounds of counting today.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Monday won the Bawana Assembly bypoll by a margin of over 24,000 votes, defeating former party legislator Ved Prakash who defected to the BJP.

Also read: Bypoll results from Bawana, Nandyal, Panaji and Valpoi

After the final round of counting, AAP candidate Ram Chandra got 59,886 votes against 35,834 votes of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)’s Ved Prakash. Congress candidate Surender Kumar got 31,919 votes, an election commission official announced.

The by-poll was necessitated after Ved Prakash quit the AAP and resigned from the assembly seat to join the BJP.