YSR Congress Patapatnam MLA joins TDP

Vijayawada: The eighth MLA from YSR Congress today joined the ruling Telugu Desam Party here.

K V Ramana Murthy, MLA from Patapatnam in Srikakulam district, drove to Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu’s residence along with Youth Affairs Minister K Atchannaidu and formally joined the ruling party.

It was a homecoming for Murthy who had been a TDP leader previously but joined the YSRC ahead of the 2014 elections.

So far eight MLAs and one MLC of the YSRC defected to the TDP since February 22.