Williamson, Amelia Kerr big winners at New Zealand cricket awards

Wellington: New Zealand Men’s cricket captain Kane Williamson on Thursday won his third Sir Richard Hadlee medal in four years and Kiwi women’s all-rounder Amelia Kerr matched his three trips to the stage at the annual New Zealand cricket awards.

Williamson and Kerr were the dominant individuals in the award ceremony in Auckland, stuff.co.nz reported.

The 28-year-old repeated his Player of the Year Award from 2016 and 2017. Sir Richard Hadlee himself presented the award to Williamson.

The Kiwi skipper across the formats was named Test Player of the Year and received the Redpath Cup for his batting in first-class cricket.

Kerr was named women’s one-day International Player of the Year and she also received the Phyl Blackler Cup for women’s domestic bowling.

The 18-year-old scored 415 runs over the judging period over an average of 59, including a world record 232 not out against Ireland. She also picked up a total of 19 wickets in the judging period.

Ross Taylor (ODI) and Sophie Devine (Women’s T20I) were honoured for their impressive limited-overs seasons, whereas Trent Boult received the Winsor Cup for first-class bowling and Colin Munro was named the international men’s T20 player of the year.

‚ÄčNatalie Dodd (Central Hinds) and Devon Conway (Wellington Firebirds) were named domestic women’s and men’s players of the year.

NZC also provided farewells to five recently retired internationals with Liz Perry, Michael Papps, Brent Arnel, Luke Woodcock, and Lucy Doolan all honored on stage.