WB: TMC’s Gita Rani Bhunia wins Sabang by-poll

Kolkata : All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Sunday won the Sabang Assembly constituency by-poll.

Trinamool candidate Gita Rani Bhunia, who was leading by more than 19,000 votes over her nearest rival Rita Mondal of the Left Front backed CPM candidate, won by a whopping margin.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) fielded Antara Bhattacharya against TMC’s Bhunia.

TMC, Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPM), BJP and Congress are the key players in the fray.

Congress had an alliance in the last two assembly elections with Trinamool in 2011 and CPM in 2016.

According to reports, there was 85 per cent polling turnout on December 21. (ANI)


Gita Rani Bhunia