WB polls: Around 62% voting recorded till 1 p.m.

Cooch behar (West Bengal) : Around 61.88 %voter turnout was recorded till 11 a.m. in the sixth and final phase of the West Bengal legislative polls, being held across 25 assembly constituencies today.

The polling in 25 constituencies spread across East Midnapore and Coochbehar districts began today at 7 a.m. amid tight security arrangements.

The polling has largely been peaceful, barring an incident in the Baharampur area, where Murshidabad Trinamool Congress (TMC) district secretary Subir Sarkar was shot at. He has been admitted to a hospital with serious injuries.

Over 58 lakh voters will decide political fate of 170 candidates, including 18 women.

In all, 67 candidates are in the fray for nine seats in Coochbehar, 12 of them independents.

In Purba Medinipur, a total of 103 candidates are vying for 16 seats including 12 independents.

Counting of votes for all 194 constituencies will be held on May 19. (ANI)