Watch: 37.85 percent voter turnout till 1 pm in 6 phase

Lucknow (UP): A total of 37.85 percent voter turnout was recorded till 1 p.m. today in the sixth phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly elections 2017.

Earlier, 23.28 percent voter turnout was recorded till 11 a.m.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the electorate at 17,926 polling booths across 49 Assembly seats.

The districts going to polls are Mau, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Ballia and Azamgarh. Around 1.72 crore voters, with 94.60 lakh men and 77.84 women, will decide the fate of 635 candidates.

The political fate of leaders like Union Minister Kalraj Singh and Firebrand leader Yogi Adityanath is at stake in this crucial phase of polls.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has fielded candidates on all 49 seats. Under their alliance, the Samajwadi Party is contesting 40 seats and the Congress 9 seats.

Polling will end at 5 p.m.

The results will be announced on March 11.