Vice President honours CRPF personnel for bravery

Gurugram: Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu on Sunday honoured various battalions of the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) for their bravery and meritorious services in killing terrorists and Maoists in deadly encounters in Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand, respectively.

Naidu was the chief guest in passing out parade ceremony of the 50th batch of Directly Appointed Gazetted Officers (DAGOs) at the paramilitary’s Kadarpur academy, around 20 km from Gurugram.

Commandant Vijay Anant Prakash and constable Rajesh were honoured for killing down two Pakistani terrorists in Pulwama in Jammu and Kashmir, on June 30, 2016.

Assistant Commandants Ajay Kumar and Santosh Kumar Suman, Constables Mahender Pratap Singh and Vijay Kumar of 110 battalion were honoured for their participation in gunning down two Pakistani-origin terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir on December 8, 2015.

The team of CRPF’s 180 battalion, comprising of Commandant Rajesh Kumar, Assistant Commandant Rajender Malik, Head Constable Wazir Patel, Constables Manohar Lal and Kanchan Kumar were rewarded medals for eliminating two Pakistani terrorists in Jammu and Kashmir on March 4, 2016.

Also, CRPF Assistant Commandant Dilip Kumar Singh, Constables Govind Singh, Saddam Ansari, Vishvanath Kumar, Arun Kumar, Lal Singh, Harish Kumar and Ratan Lal Meena were honoured for killing Maoists in Jharkhand on September 18, 2016.

Nishant Yadav, DAGO of 50th batch (48 members, including 4 women) was awarded the ‘Sword of Honour’ for his overall best performance after 52 weeks training at the Kadarpur academy.

Yadav hails from Haryana’s Ballabgarh town and is the nephew of Gurugram’s Deputy Mayor Sunita Yadav.