UPDATE: Akbar Owaisi attack case: Mohammed Pahelwan among 10 acquitted, 4 sentenced to 10 years in prison

Hyderabad: The VII Addl. Metropolitan Sessions Judge on Thursday acquitted ten accused including Mohammed Pahelwan in Akbaruddin Owaisi attack case, however, the court has convicted four accused Hasan Bin Omer Yafai, Abdullah Yafai, Awad Yafai and Salem Bin Wahlan to ten years rigorous imprisonment after they were found guilty under IPC section 307 (attempt to murder).

The Court on Thursday acquitted Mohammed Bin Omer Yafai, Younus Bin Omer Yafai, Munawar Iqbal, Esa Bin Younus Yafai, Yahiya Bin Younus Yafai, Afif Yafai, Saif, Faisal Bin Ahmed, Fazal Bin Ahmed and Amer after the prosecution has failed to prove charges against them. The defence counsel Advocate G. Gurumurthy, Advocate Rajvardhan Reddy and others successfully contested the case.

It may be mentioned that on 30th April 2011, Central Crime Station had registered a case in connection with the attack on Chandrayangutta MLA, Mr. Akbaruddin Owaisi in which Mohammed bin Omer Yafai alias Mohammed Pahelwan and his family members were arrested. They have been in prison for the past 6 years at Cherlapally jail.

The hearing of the case was completed last week at the court of VII Addl. Metropolitan Sessions Judge, Mr. T. Srinivas Rao. The judge pronounced the judgment of the case today.

Police made elaborate security arrangements in the premises of criminal court. The heavy police force is being deployed and latest HD CCTV Cameras are being installed so that the entry of unconcerned persons could be checked.