Uncapped Sipamla named in proteas squad for Pak T20I series

Johannesburg: South Africa have included uncapped teenage bowler Lutho Sipamla in the team as they announced a 14-member squad for their upcoming three-match T20 series against Pakistan.

The 20-year-old, who plays for Tshwane Spartans in the Mzansi Super League, had impressed the selectors with figures of 13 wickets in nine games during the inaugural edition of the tournament, last year.

“Lutho made a very good impression in the Mzansi Super League (MSL) which is making a big contribution to our talent pipeline in helping to bridge the gap between franchise and international cricket,” Sport24 quoted Cricket South Africa (CSA) convener of selectors Linda Zondi, as saying.

Other players to be included in the team include Rassie van der Dussen, Beuran and Reeza Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Gihahn Cloete and Anrich Nortje. All of them have had an impressive run in the MSL resulting in their selection for the national squad.

South Africa and Pakistan are slated to play a three-match T20 series from February 1 to 6.
Following is the full South African T20 squad for the Pakistan series:

Faf du Plessis (capt), Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Quinton de Kock, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Chris Morris, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Rassie van der Dussen.