`Uncapped` Kuhn, Phehlukwayo named in Proteas Test squad

Johannesburg [South Africa]: The uncapped duo of Heino Kuhn and Andile Phehlukwayo has been named in the 16-member South African squad for the four-match Test series against England, beginning July 6 at the Lord’s.

Kuhn and Phehlukwayo will come at an expense of Stephen Cook and Wayne Parnell, respectively from the squad that played the last series against New Zealand.

Reflecting on Kuhn’s inclusion, CSA Selection Convener Linda Zondi said that the opening batsman has been called in the squad in the wake of his outstanding form for South Africa A on their recent tour of England.

“Heino Kuhn has shown outstanding form for South Africa A on their recent tour of England which included a double century in the four-day match against Hampshire and a further century against the England Lions. He certainly deserved his place on consistent form which also includes back-to-back Sunfoil Series seasons,” Zondi said.

Meanwhile, Zondi revealed Andile’s selection in the squad has come as a continuation of South Africa’s drive to develop bowling all-rounders in the Test team.

“Andile’s selection is a continuation of our drive to develop bowling all-rounders for the Test team. He and Chris Morris will fill this role in support of Vernon Philander. At the age of 21 he is certainly one for the future,” Zondi added.

Aiden Markram, the third uncapped player, has also been included to provide batting cover for Faf du Plessis.

Dean Elgar will captain the side in the warm-up match and will stand in for Du Plessis in the first Test match if the latter is not available for selection.

Dane Piedt, on the other hand, has been left out as the selectors have only named one specialist spinner in Keshav Maharaj.

The Lord’s Tests will be followed by games at Trent Bridge (July 14-18), Kennington Oval (July 27-31) and Old Trafford (August 4-8).

South Africa Test squad: Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock , JP Duminy, Dean Elgar, Heino Kuhn, Keshav Maharaj , Aiden Markram , Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Duanne Olivier, Andile Phehlukwayo , Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada.(ANI)