Two former Congress MLAs join BJP ahead of Manipur polls

Imphal (Manipur) [India]: Two former Congress MLAs on Monday joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the assembly polls scheduled next year in Manipur.

Former Congress strongmen Nonthongbam Biren of Heingang assembly constituency and Franchis Ngazokpa of Tadubi assembly constituency were warmly received by BJP general secretary Ram Madhav, BJP’s national democratic alliance convenor Himanta Biswa Sharma and Manipal BJP chief state Bhabananda at the party head office at keishampat Nityapat Chuthek.

Seeveral other state BJP leaders including Th Chaoba, Bhabananda , Ashinikumar and Premanda also attended the function along with other state executive members.

With the enrollment of the two Congress legislators, the number of MLAs who recently joined the BJP stands at three.

Earlier in September last year, Congress MLA Y. Erabot was the first to join the BJP after resigning from the grand old party. (ANI)