Turn the pages of history: Meet prominent members of “first Assembly” of Hyderabad State

Hyderabad: There are interesting details and historical facts about the first Assembly Elections held in 1952 in Hyderabad State.

A close study of the members of Assembly reveals that highly qualified persons like doctors and advocates were elected to the Assembly.

In Hyderabad City, there were 11 Assembly constituencies. Two MLAs were elected from Secunderabad and Ibrahimpatnam constituencies. In Malakpet and Ibrahimpatnam constituencies, independent candidates of Peoples Democratic Front supported by CPI were elected. In the remaining constituencies, Congress candidates got the seats.

From Musheerabad Assembly Constituency, Dr. G S Melkote polled 57.73% votes. He was a doctor and Chairman of Hyderabad Chapter of Indian Medical Association. He served as Finance Minister in Hyderabad State Cabinet led by Dr. B. Rama Krishna Rao.

From Chaderghat Assembly Constituency, Justice Gopal Rao Ekbote won the election polling 62.86% votes. He served as Education Minister. Later, he became Chief Justice of AP High Court.

From Begum Bazar Assembly Constituency, Mr. Kashinath Vaidya won the seat polling 72.86% votes. He served as the first speaker of Hyderabad State Assembly.

The first woman Muslim MLA was Ms. Masooma Begum. She became the Minister also. She defeated PDF candidate, Mr. Makhdoom Mohiuddin who was a famous revolutionary Urdu poet.

Mr. Mehdi Nawaz Jung won the Somajiguda Assembly seat polling 54.30% votes. He was very close to the late Nizam of Hyderabad. He also served as the Secretary of Nizam’s Executive Council. He became minister in State Cabinet.

Another candidate Syed Hasan was an MLA. Mr. Narendra won the seat from Karwan constituency. From Secunderabad, JB Mutyala Rao and Mr. B. Gowtham from Ibrahimpatnam won the seats.

From Malakpet, Mr. Abdur Rahman and Mr. Papi Reddy from Ibrahimpatnam won the seats.

It may be noted that Dr. Jaysurya Naidu, son of Ms. Sarojini Naidu who contested on the ticket of PDF lost the seat to VB Raju of Congress in Secunderabad Constituency.

[source_without_link]Siasat News[/source_without_link]