TS Govt Forms Cabinet Sub-Committee on New Districts, Given One Week Time

Clearly indicating that  the Government is keen on formation of new Districts  from Dasara festival in October, the  Telangana state Government on Wednesday constituted a Cabinet Sub-Committee on creation of New Districts and asked it to submit its report within a week.

The  five-member Sub-committee consists of  Md. Mahamood Ali, Deputy Chief Minister, Revenue, Relief & Rehabilitation, ULC, Stamps & Registration (Chairman);   Kadiyam Srihari, Deputy Chief Minister, Education; Eatala Rajender,  Minister for Finance; Tummala Nageshwar Rao,  Minister for Roads and Buildings; and  Jupally Krishna Rao, Minister for Panchayat Raj & Rural Development.


The Special Chief Secretary to Government, Revenue Department shall be the Convenor of the above Committee.

The CCLA will act as Secretary to the Cabinet Sub-Committee.


The Cabinet Sub-Committee shall inter alia make specific recommendation on the following items: (a) Number of Districts; (b) Interim arrangements for functioning of districts; (c) Infrastructural arrangements including office accommodation; (d) Recommend guidelines for Employees allocation among zones and any further suggestions on zonal system under Presidential orders; (e) Suggest broad guidelines for reorganizing departments for the new districts; and (f) Any other specific issues the Committee may determine.


The terms of reference makes it clear that the Government has not yet decided on the number of new Districts to be created, and the Cabinet sub-Committee will recommend on it.  It may be recalled that in the recent months, the media was reporting from time to time on the number of districts would be created. Some reports said that 15 new Districts would be created, while others put the figure at 17 and so on. (NSS)