TS Govt bans strikes in energy department

The Telangana Government has imposed a six-month ban on the strikes by employees of energy department.

According to Energy Department Principal Secretary Arvind Kumar, the ban would be applicable in all companies under Telangana State Power Generation Corporation Limited under Essential Services Maintenance Act (ESMA).

It may be mentioned that employees unions of energy department had recently served notice to the State Government seeking resolution of their pending issues by June 14. They had threatened to go on strike from June 15. In order to foil the proposed strike, the Telangana Government invoked ESMA to impose a six-month ban. (INN)