Tripura elections: Left Front announces list of candidates

Agartala (Tripura): The ruling Left Front of Tripura on Tuesday released its list of candidates for the 60-member state Assembly polls, with ten new faces.

The list was announced by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPIM) state secretary and newly elected Left Front’s convener Bijan Dhar in presence of other leaders.

The list consists of 57 CPIM candidates, while other alliance parties Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP), Communist Party of India (CPI) and Forward Block (FB) have one candidate each.

However, in the 2013 assembly elections, the Left Front partners were given five seats – CPI- two, FB – one and RSP – two.

Dhar has cited that the candidates were selected on the basis of the winning chances.

Meanwhile, for the first time, the CPIM has announced Manik Sarkar as the Chief Ministerial candidate beforehand.

“The Left Front shall be fighting the election on the issues of peace, tranquillity and harmony and which is very important at a time when decisive forces like Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra and Bharatiya Janata Party has formed an alliance to defeat the left front in the state”, said Dhar.

The Assembly Elections in Tripura is slated to be held on February 14 and the counting will take place on March 3. (ANI)