Travel ban: 17 states sue Trump

Washington: Anger prevails in US against new immigration policy of Trump administration. Seventeen U.S. states sued Trump for the policy of separating undocumented children from parents. The ongoing legal fight intensified after President Donald Trump scored a major victory on his travel ban.

States including Washington, California, New York and Pennsylvania, as well as the District of Columbia, filed a complaint calling the policy unconstitutional in federal court in Seattle. The joint effort by the Democratic state attorneys general mirrors the battle over Trump’s travel ban against several Muslim-majority countries — a battle the states lost Tuesday in a 5-4 U.S. Supreme Court ruling along ideological lines.

Alleging that the border policy violates immigrants’ Fifth Amendment rights to equal protection under the law, 17 states sued the Trump administration in an effort to force officials to reunite migrant families who have been separated at the U.S.-Mexico border.