TN bypolls: SC seeks EC’s response on a plea filed by DMK

New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Friday issued a notice to the Election Commission seeking its response on a plea filed by the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) regarding the bypoll schedule for the state.

The DMK sought direction from the EC to notify bypolls and publish the schedule of elections in Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram and Tiruparankundram Assembly constituencies in Tamil Nadu, along with other by-elections to be held on April 18.

A division bench of the top court headed by Justice SA Bobde and also comprising of Justice S Abdul Nazeer sought a response from the EC within two weeks time.

The petition claimed that the EC will hold bypolls in only 18 constituencies in Tamil Nadu but not in these three constituencies.

There are 21 constituencies in the state and while elections will be held there on April 18, the Commission has not notified election dates of three constituencies — Ottapidaram, Tirupparankundrama, and Aravakurichi.

The bypolls of these three constituencies were being withheld in view of pending election petitions before the Madras High Court.