TMC has “syndicate morcha” : Nirmala Sitharaman

Kharagpur: Union Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman hit out at the Trinamool Congress stating that ruling party in the state is a “syndicate morcha” and is unlike other parties that have women, youth and various other wings and fronts.

“Unlike other parties where women’s wing, youth wing and other types of fronts exist, I feel that TMC has only “syndicate morcha” and Didi (Mamata Banerjee) runs a ‘tolabaji’ here through this “syndicate morcha”. That is why police cannot do anything in West Bengal. There is Narada-Saradha here,” Sitharaman said here on Wednesday.
She said that TMC stands only for Tushtikaran (appeasement), Mafia and Corruption.

“Our President says that Trinamool Congress’ T stands for Tushtikaran (appeasement), M stands for Mafia, C is for Congress/Corruption. Congress means Corruption,” she said.

Sitharaman was addressing a rally in support of BJP’s Medinipur Lok Sabha seat contestant Dilip Kumar Ghosh. For the 2019 election, Trinamool Congress has fielded Manas Ranjan Bhunia while Communist Party of India has named Biplab Bhatta. Among others in the fray are Sambhunath Chattopadhyay from Congress and Ramkrishna Sarkar Bahujan Samaj Party.

Medinipur is one of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal.

Voting for Lok Sabha election in West Bengal is being held in all seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

Voting in Medinipur Lok Sabha constituency is in the sixth phase on May 12 and counting is on May 23. Medinipur parliamentary constituency comprises of seven assembly segments namely Egra, Dantan, Keshiary (ST), Kharagpur Sadar, Narayangarh, Kharagpur and Medinipur.