The Weeknd sweeps 2021 Juno Awards, here’s the list of winners

Washington: The winners for the 2021 Juno Awards have been announced and The Weeknd won big at this year’s ceremony, taking home five honours.

As per Variety, during the opening night of the awards, ‘Blinding Lights’ won single of the year, ‘After Hours’ took home the award for contemporary R&B recording of the year and the Weeknd was awarded songwriter of the year, along with his co-writers Belly and Jason “DaHeala” Quenneville.

At Sunday’s ceremony, the Weeknd was presented with two more awards: artist of the year and album of the year for ‘After Hours’.

Other winners include singer Shawn Mendes, who won the Juno Fan Choice award; Harry Styles, who took home the honour for international album of the year for ‘Fine Line’ and Justin Bieber, whose album ‘Changes’ won pop album of the year.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Single of the Year

‘Blinding Lights,’ the Weeknd

Artist of the Year

The Weeknd

Album of the Year

‘After Hours,’ the Weeknd

Juno Fan Choice

Shawn Mendes

International Album of the Year

‘Fine Line,’ Harry Styles

Group of the Year


Breakthrough Artist of the Year

JP Saxe

Breakthrough Group of the Year

Crown Lands

Songwriter of the Year

The Weeknd (Abel Tesfaye), Belly (Ahmad Balshe), and Jason ‘DaHeala’ Quenneville

Pop Album of the Year

‘Changes,’ Justin Bieber

Country Album of the Year

‘The Lemonade Stand,’ Tenille Townes

Adult Alternative Album of the Year

‘Sad Hunk,’ Bahamas

Alternative Album of the Year

‘Pray for It,’ July Talk

Rock Album of the Year

‘Ruthless,’ JJ Wilde

Canadian Music Hall of Fame Inductee

Jann Arden

Humanitarian Award

The Hip

Vocal Jazz Album of the Year

‘With You,’ Sammy Jackson

Jazz Album of the Year: Solo

‘Elegant Traveler,’ Jocelyn Gould

Jazz Album of the Year: Group

‘The reMission,’ Andy Milne and Unison

Instrumental Album of the Year

‘Movements III,’ Blitz//Berlin

Francophone Album of the Year

‘Quand la nuit tombe,’ Louis-Jean Cormier

Children’s Album of the Year

‘Heart Parade,’ Splash’N Boots

Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber

‘Mosaique,’ Ensemble Made in Canada

Classical Album of the Year: Large Ensemble

‘Ginastera – Bernstein – Moussa: OEuvres pour violon et orchestre / Works for Violin and Orchestra Orchestre symphonique de Montreal,’ conducted by Kent Nagano, feat. Andrew Wan

Classical Composition of the Year

‘Violin Concerto ‘Adrano,” Samy Moussa

Rap Recording of the Year

‘Elements Vol. 1,’ Tobi

Dance Recording of the Year

‘Bubba,’ Kaytranada

Contemporary R&B Recording of the Year

‘After Hours,’ The Weeknd

Traditional R&B Recording of the Year

‘Solid,’ Savannah Re

Reggae Recording of the Year

‘I Pray,’ TOME x Sean Kingston

Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year

‘North Star Calling,’ Leela Gilday

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year

‘Bravado,’ Rose Cousins

Traditional Roots Album of the Year

‘Bet on Love,’ Pharis and Jason Romero

Blues Album of the Year

‘Church House Blues,’ Crystal Shawanda

Contemporary Christian/Gospel Album of the Year

‘The Way,’ Shawna Cain

World Music Album of the Year

‘Espiral,’ Okan

Jack Richardson Producer of the Year


Recording Engineer of the Year

Serban Ghenea

Album Artwork of the Year

Julien Hebert (Art Director), David Beauchemin (Designer), Florence Obrecht (Illustrator), Marc-Etienne Mongrain (Photographer) — ‘Notre-Dame-Des-Sept-Douleurs,’ Klo Pelgag

Music Video of the Year

‘No One’s in the Room,’ Emma Higgins and Jessie Reyez

Electronic Album of the Year

‘Suddenly,’ Caribou

Metal/Hard Music Album of the Year

‘Abyss,’ Unleash the Archers

Adult Contemporary Album of the Year

‘Such Pretty Forks in the Road,’ Alanis Morissette

Comedy Album of the Year

‘Horse Power,’ Jacob Samuel

The Juno Awards recognise the best musical achievements of Canadian artists each year, with most awards selected by the Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences.

The winners for nine of the categories, including album of the year and artist of the year, are determined by sales figures, though members of CARAS select the nominees.