Tharoor sure of raising win margin 3 times over 2014

Thiruvananthapuram: Shashi Tharoor, senior Congress leader and party candidate from the Thiruvananthapuram seat in Kerala, on Thursday expressed confidence of winning the seat by three times plus margin over the 2014 votes.

The sitting MP from the seat made the remarks after leading by over 60,000 votes at the end of counting of 83 per cent votes in his constituency.

“While campaigning, I had said I will not only win, but win with a hugely improved margin. I am now confident I will get more than three times the margin that I secured in 2014. I thank all the people here for my victory,” said Tharoor.

In 2014, Tharoor won the seat with a margin of 15,470 votes.

Trailing against Tharoor is BJP candidate Kummanem Rajasekheran, followed by CPI legislator and former Minister C. Divakaran.