Thailand: Tsunami warning issued for 6 provinces after earthquake

Bangkok [Thailand]: A tsunami warning has been issued for six provinces in Thailand after two earthquakes struck the Indian Ocean on Saturday.

The warning was prompted after a 5.0 magnitude earthquake struck the area around the Andaman Islands in India on Saturday evening, which was followed by a 5.2 magnitude just a few minutes later.

Thailand’s Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation issued the tsunami warning for Ranong, Phuket, Phang Nga, Krabi, Trang and Satun, reports Xinhua.

The warning comes at a time when Thailand is set to go for polls on Sunday for the first time in eight years.