Tension at Assembly as Congress leaders held everywhere

Though the TRS government foiled the attempt of Congress party’s ‘Chalo Assembly’ program using police, tension prevailed for some time on Friday when the police resorted to arrests of Congress leaders everywhere.

The Congress leaders, along with activists reached to Gandhi Bhavan from across the state, started in rally towards Assembly from Gandhi Bhavan demanding the state government to solve the problems of the farmers. The police obstructed the rally and detained the leaders and activists. The police shifted former MP Ponnam Prabhakar, former MLA D Sudhir Reddy and former Whip Gandra Venkatramana Reddy by detaining them when they tried to seize the Assembly. On this occasion, the Congress activists raised slogans against the TRS government and Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao. The police shifted them to Goshamahal Police Station.

Earlier, Nalgonda police detained Nalgonda Municipal Chairman’s husband Boddupally Srinivas, 15 sarpanchs and 30 MPTC members along with 200 activists at Begum Bazar and shifted them to Begum Bazar police station. The police arrested TPCC Chief N Uttam Kumar Reddy, MLAs DK Aruna, former Ministers Sabitha Indra Reddy, Sunitha Laxma Reddy and shifted them to Madannapet Police Station. After releasing, Uttam came to Assembly but the police once again arrested him and shifted him to Gandhi Nagar Police Station. The police took pains to arrest Renuka Chowdhary as she entered into an argument with the police. She pushed police personnel when they tried to arrest her. But the police brought women police in huge numbers and arrested Renuka Chowdhary. Renuka Chowdhary also gave stiff resistance when the police tried to shift her to police van.

The police arrested MLC Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy, MLA T Rammohan Reddy and shifted tehm to Ramgopal Pet Police Station. The police made former MLA Vishnu Vardhan Reddy house arrest. The police arrested Rajya Sabha member Renuka Chowdhary and shifted her to Gandhi Nagar Police Station.

The Congress leaders K Jana Reddy, Shabbir Ali, former Ministers D Damodhar Reddy, Marri Shashidhar Reddy, former Union Minister Balaram Naik, Rajya Sabha member Rapolu Ananda Bhasker, several Youth Congress  and NSUI activists were arrested during the Chalo Assembly program. However, the police released all Congress leaders later. (NSS)