Telangana says ‘no’ to further district reorganisation demands

Hyderabad: A day after 21 new districts came into existence, the Telangana government today said no fresh demands on reorganisation of districts and other administrative units would be considered.

Expressing satisfaction on the way the process of reorganisation of districts was carried out, the state government said no more changes would be considered on the issue.

More than two years after Telangana came into existence as India’s 29th state, the TRS government in the state yesterday carried out the biggest administrative reform, creating 21 new districts.

With this, the total number of districts in the state went up to 31 from 10, following the reorganisation process.

Telangana, carved out of Andhra Pradesh, came into existence on June 2, 2014 as the 29th state of India.

Revenue divisions and other administrative units have also been reconstituted along with the districts and 25 new revenue divisions, 125 new mandals, four new police commissionerates, 23 new police sub-divisions, 28 new circles and 91 police stations have come into existence yesterday.

The new districts are — Siddipet, Jangaon, Jayashankar, Jagtial, Warangal (Rural), Yadadri, Peddapally, Kamareddy, Sangareddy, Mancheriyal, Vikarabad, Rajanna, Asifabad, Suryapet, Kothagudem, Nirmal, Wanaparthy, Nagarkurnool, Mahabubabad, Jogulamba and Medchal/Malkajgiri.

The other 10 districts are — Hyderabad, Ranga Reddy, Mahabubnagar, Medak, Karimnagar, Adilabad, Nizamabad, Warangal, Khammam and Nalgonda.

The reorganisation of districts would help in effective monitoring and implementation of welfare schemes, so that they reach the needy, Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao had said earlier.