Telangana: Lack of minimum ministers a violation of Constitution

Hyderabad: AICC spokesperson Dr Sravan Dasoju has slammed Chief Minister K. Chandrashekar Rao for not appointing a minimum number of ministers in his cabinet and described it as a violation of Constitution.

Addressing the media at Gandhi Bhavan on Tuesday, Sravan released a copy of open letter which he wrote to Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan seeking his immediate intervention on absence of a full-fledge Council of Ministers even after five weeks of formation of new government.

Sravan said except for four portfolios of Home, Stamps and Registrations, Relief and Rehabilitation, Urban Land Ceiling, all other portfolios are kept with the Chief Minister. He said, “There are 33 departments and 289 organizations in the government and it was humanely impossible for one person to take decisions and monitor their execution. Without minimum number of ministers, we are not only curtailing the functioning of the government, but also doing disservice to the people, who participated in democratic elections and voted.

Sravan alleged that the State was now under zero-governance due to lack of cabinet ministers. There are signs of drought and what kind of proactive disaster management was being taken up. The government was expected to arrange for State-level Bankers’ meeting. He also said Rythu Bandhu payments are not completely made, many farmers received only messages on the polling day but not the money. Thousands of crores of bills are pending for ongoing projects. There was no transparency and chaos in the Government,” he said.
Sravan also congratulated the Congress workers and leaders for putting up a brave and decent performance in Panchayat Raj elections. He said despite defeat of several senior leaders in recently held elections, party activists bravely countered the threats and intimidation by TRS MLAs at local level and ensured Congress victory in over 900 Gram Panchayats as against 2600 won by TRS in the first phase. He appealed to the Congress workers to exhibit the same spirit in the second and third phase of Panchayat Raj elections.

TPCC Spokespersons Syed Nizamuddin and Charan Kaushik Yadav were present.