TDP wins six seats unopposed in AP Legislative Council

Amaravati: The ruling Telugu Desam today unanimously won six seats in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from the Local Authorities constituencies.

In all, elections are being held for nine Council seats from the LACs, polling for which is slated for March 17.

Now that six seats have been won without a contest, the election will be held only for rest three seats. Counting of votes will be held on March 20.

A few independent candidates who filed their papers in Srikakulam, West Godavari and Anantapuramu districts withdrew their candidature on the last day today, paving the way for unanimous election of the TDP nominees.

Former ministers Satrucharla Vijaya Rama Raju (Srikakulam), Chikkala Ramachandra Rao (East Godavari), sitting MLC Angara Ramamohan and Mantena Satyanarayana Raju (West Godavari), B Rajanarasimhulu alias Dorababu (Chittoor) and Deepak Reddy (Anantapuramu) were declared elected unopposed as MLCs from the respective Local Authorities Constituencies, the Returning Officers announced.

The lone opposition YSR Congress did not field party candidates in these LACs as it did not have adequate strength.

The YSRC is, however, locked in a contest with the TDP is SPS Nellore, Kurnool and Kadapa LACs as it has some strength in the local bodies in these districts. In Nellore, sitting MLC Vakati Narayana Reddy of the TDP is facing Anam Vijay Kumar Reddy of YSRC.

In Kurnool, TDP district president and incumbent MLC Silpa Chakrapani Reddy is fighting YSRC’s Gouru Venkat Reddy. YSRC president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy’s uncle and former MLC Y S Vivekananda Reddy is facing B Ravi of TDP in Kadapa.