TDP launches vitriolic attack at KCR for appeasing Congress

Hyderabad, July 01: Describing Panchayat Raj Minister Jana Reddy as a ‘power hungry’ leader, Telugu Desam Party politburo member Kadiam Srihari on Thursday launched a vitriolic attack on Telangana Rashtra Samithi president K Chandrasekhar Rao for ‘appeasing’ Congress leaders by seeking their cooperation in the fight for Telangana.

Mr Srihari told media persons at the NTR Trust Bhavan that KCR’s meeting with Mr Jana Reddy was a sign that the TRS chief was trying to appease Congress leaders “who have cheated the people of the region and have made efforts to water down the agitation for separate state.”

“What has forced KCR to appease the Congress leaders from Telangana for state formation? What is the reason behind him meeting Mr Jana Reddy, a power hungry Minister who has cheated the people of Telangana? KCR must give an explanation to the people about the reasons behind his meeting with Mr Jana Reddy,” Mr Srihari said.

His vitriolic attack continued as he alleged that both Mr Jana Reddy and Union Petroleum Minister S Jaipal Reddy were ‘traitors of Telangana’ and added that many students committed suicides due to lack of commitment for the cause of statehood by these leaders.

“The two leaders must resign from their posts, at least now, if they have any commitment to Telangana,” Mr Srihari stated.

He added that, “right from the beginning, the Congress party has been cheating the people of the region on the statehood issue and displaying discrimination on all fronts.”

“The people of Telangana are not ready to agree for any special financial packages or establishment of Regional Councils. They want only Telangana and nothing else would satisfy them,” the TDP politburo member stated.

The senior leader questioned KCR whether he had launched the TRS to achieve the separate state or to weaken the Telugu Desam Party. “The TRS and Telangana Political Joint Action Committee are busy obstructing the TDP’s programmes in the region. Why are they not obstructing Seemandhra leaders like Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, Union Minister of State for Human Resources D Purandareswari and Minister Raghuveera Reddy, but the TDP alone?” he questioned.