TDP announces 126 candidates for Andhra Assembly polls

Amaravati: Andhra Pradesh’s ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Thursday night announced its first list of candidates for next month’s Assembly elections, containing 126 names.

Chief Minister and TDP President N. Chandrababu Naidu declared the list after the politburo, the highest decision-making body of the party, approved the names.

With the announcement of the first list, the party had launched its mission to secure 150 seats in the 175-member Assembly, he said.

Naidu, who will be seeking re-election from Kuppam constituency in his native Chittoor district, said candidates from backward and weaker sections and those with good record were given priority.

According to the list, Naidu’s son Nara Lokesh will contest from Mangalagiri constituency in state capital region Amaravati. Lokesh, currently a minister in Naidu’s cabinet and a member of the Legislative Council, will be making his debut in a direct election.

Naidu’s brother-in-law and Lokesh’s father-in-law, actor Balakrishna will seek re-election from Hindupur.

Naidu has given tickets to most of his cabinet colleagues. Former Chief Minister and Congress leader N. Kiran Kumar Reddy’s brother N. Kishore Kumar Reddy, who recently joined the TDP, has been given ticket from Pileru constituency.

Elections to 175-member Assembly and all 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state are scheduled in a single phase on April 11.

Naidu is expected to announce the remaining candidates for Assembly and all candidates for Lok Sabha seats in few days.