T20 World Cup 2020: India, Pakistan to begin campaign from super 12s stage

The International Cricket Council (ICC) confirmed in a press release on Tuesday that India and Pakistan will begin their Men’s T20 World Cup 2020 campaign from the Super 12s stage.

Along with India and Pakistan, the top-ranked teams like England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, the Windies and Afghanistan will also start their campaign directly in the Super 12s.

The ICC also confirmed the teams that have qualified directly for the Men’s T20 World Cup, which will take place in Australia. The decision was based on ICC Men’s T20I Team Rankings as on December 31 2018.

Australia and the other nine top-ranked teams have secured direct qualification, as per the qualification criteria set for the tournament. Four teams from the group stage will make to the Super 12s.

According to the report published in the ndtv, the top eight teams make it straight to the Super 12s stage while the remaining two teams will play in the group stage along with six other teams who will make it through from the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifier in 2019.