T Jeevan Reddy wins Graduates seat by defeating BJP, TRS-backed candidates

Hyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samithi, which was riding high on the wave of success in Assembly elections in the State held in December 2018, met with a shock in the MLC elections.

Sitting MLC Pula Ravinder, Teacher’s MLC from PRTU lost the electio0n against the UTF candidate Alugubelli Narsi Reddy from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency. Of the total 18,885 votes polled, Narsi Reddy secured 8,976 votes and Pula Ravinder got 6,279 votes.

The total number of votes required to win the seat was 9,014 and Narsi Reddy fell short of 38 votes. However, with the adding the second preference votes, Narsi Reddy emerged victorious. Pula Ravinder was supported by the TRS and Narsi Reddy was supported by the Congress and Left parties. Narsi Reddy had earlier worked as president of UTF State president.

Former minister T Jeevan Reddy emerged victorious by a margin of 14,300 votes defeating BJP’s Sugunakar Rao and TRS’ Chandrashekhar Goud in the Karimnagar-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Medak Graduates Constituency.