T demand for separate HC is genuine: Union minister

Union Law Minister Sadananda Gowda today opined that the Telangana MPs’ demand of division of High Court is genuine.

Participating in NALSAR Law University Convocation here on Sunday, Sadananda Gowda said the Telangana MPs raised the demand of creation of separate High Court for the Telangana State in Parliament. He said he would not comment on the Common High Court division issue as the issue was under court’s jurisdiction. He said the Centre would consider the request in case the common High Court Chief Justice sends a resolution to the Centre. Gowda urged the young talent from National Law School to take up litigation lawyering and not confine themselves to practice in corporate offices. He equated the rush of the graduates from various National Law Schools to corporate offices with ‘brain drain’. He emphasized on the need of improving legal research in the country with innovative ideas. He urged the students to be well versed with domestic as well of international law. He also urged law schools to impart continuous legal education to lawyers so that they keep themselves updated. He advised the passing out graduates and the current students to transform themselves into ethical professionals and work towards speedy resolution of disputes.

Acting Chief Justice of High Court and Chancellor, NALSAR University of Law, Justice Dilip Babasaheb Bhosale presided over the convocation. Prof. (Dr) Faizan Mustafa, Vice-Chancellor of NALSAR University of Law, presented the University Report for 2014-2015.

Sanya Samtani, the graduating student was awarded the Rhodes Scholarship for pursuing her studies at Oxford University. Sourav Roy got the Commonwealth Scholarship.  He further reported that the student moot teams reached quarter finals at the International founds of the Phillip C Jessup Moot Competition this year and Asia Rounds of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition.

Gold Medals awarded

The gold medal for LLM was bagged by Leny Thomas Kurakar.  BA.LLB (Honors) Anjali Rawat topped the gold medals tally with ten medals and followed by Rupali Samuel and Sanya Samtani with eight and seven medals respectively. Rupali also  shared a gold medal with Sandipan De. Sameeksha B. Sahni, student of Post Graduate diploma in Cyber Laws secured the lone gold medal instituted for the topper. In total, 43 Gold medals were distributed by the dignitaries.

Sadananda Gowda released the book on Indian Trade Unions Act, 1926 written by Prof. G.V. Ajjappa and Prof. Faizan Mustafa, Justice Dilip Babasaheb Bhosale released the M.K. Nambyar SAARC Law Journal.

Endowments Minister A. Indra Karan Reddy released  the Journal of Corporate Affairs and Corporate Crimes Vol. 3, 2015. Justice S.S.M. Quadri, former Judge, Supreme Court, released  BHOOMI – The Land Rights Newsletter. Prof. Ranbir Singh, founder-Vice-Chancellor, NALSAR and presently Vice-Chancellor, NLU Delhi released NALSARites. (NSS)