T-Cong MPs put in papers; to stay with Congress

The seven Congress MPs from Telangana said that they would continue in Congress till their resignations are accepted and said they will also send the letter to Speaker Meira Kumar if there was any delay in the announcement of Telangana.

The MPs who came to Delhi with the resignation letters had left them with Congress President Sonia Gandhi office and said they will send them in the proper format this time if the issue is delayed.

S Rajaiah said they will continue in the party till the resignations are accepted.

The MPs softened their stand after AICC spokesperson PC Chacko said that the Party is not against Telangana and is probing all options.

To keep the pressure up the MPs said that they will send letters directly to the Speaker Meira Kumar if there is any undue delay. They arrived here with a letter of joint resignations to Congress President Sonia Gandhi..

“This time we will send the letters in the prescribed format to the Speaker,” Gutha Sukhender Reddy said adding that they come to a decision after thorough discussions and weighting pros and cons.

The seven party MPs – Manda Jagannatham, Ponnam Prabhakar, S Rajaiah, G Vivek , G Sukhender Reddy, Rajagopal Reddy and Madhu Goud Yaskhi have been vocal about the issue and have taken the stand of sending the resignation letter to Sonia Gandhi was came to the national capital on invitation from senior leaders.

However, their opinion stands divided on whether or not to give the resignation letter in wake of Chacko’s statement.

In the letter to Sonia Gandhi, the MPs said that the situation is critical in the region with continuing suicides, and it would be difficult for them to continue in the party in such circumstances. (INN)