Sushil Chandra assumes charge as Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Newly-appointed Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra assumed office on Friday and joined the Commission with Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa.

Born on May 15, 1957, Chandra is a 1980 batch Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer and has served in various states, including Uttar Pradesh, Rajasthan, Delhi, Gujarat and Maharashtra.

Prior to joining the Election Commission of India (ECI), Chandra held the office of Chairman of the Central Board of Direct Taxes (CBDT), Department of Revenue, Ministry of Finance.

Chandra is only the second IRS and non-IAS officer to become an Election Commissioner after T.S. Krishnamurthy.