Suresh Gupta awarded for efficient conduct of SVEEP activities

Suresh Gupta awarded for efficient conduct of SVEEP activities

Bhopal (Pervez Bari): Suresh Gupta, Additional Director in Department of Public Relation, Madhya Pradesh, has been conferred with prize for efficient conduct of SVEEP (Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation) activities.

Madhya Pradesh Chief Secretary Anthony de Sa presented letter of citation to Suresh Gupta at state level function on National Voters Day here at Subhash School of Excellence on Monday. Gupta was given this prize in category of SVEEP Partner Department. It is to be noted that along with other departments, Public Relations is also SVEEP partner for conducting activities to increase voter awareness.

Chief Electoral Officer Mrs. Saleena Singh and retired State Election Commissioner G.S. Shukla were also present on the occasion. At the function, many officers-employees and winners of various district level students’ competition were given away prizes.

For including maximum names in voter lists during summary revision, the Chief Secretary conferred first prize to Chhindwara Collector Mahesh Chandra Choudhary, second to Harda Collector Shrikant Banoth and third prize to Hoshangabad Collector Bhondve Sanket Shantaram. For voter awareness and including maximum names in voter lists in Zila Panchayats, first prizes were given to Ujjain Zila Panchayat CEO Mrs. Ruchika Chouhan, Mrs. Shanmukh Priya Mishra of Harda, Praveen Singh of Bhind, Deepak Arya of Vidisha and Neeraj Kumar Singh of Gwalior.

Besides Suresh Gupta, de Sa gave away prizes in SVEEP Partner Department Category toMadhyam’s GM Hemand Vayangankar, State Coordinator of DAVP S.R. Mohanthy and News Director of All India Radio Manish Gautam. For voter awareness, fiscal management and including maximum names in voter lists, de Sa awarded Deputy Election Officer of Harda K. K. Rawat, Jabalpur’s Mrs. Kavita Batla and Gwalior’s R.C. Mishra, in District Registration Officers Category to Khemchanchdra Bopche of Chhindwara district, R.K. Bohat, Chhindwara’s Naman Arjariya and Mayank Agrawal, Seoni’s V.P. Dwivedi, in District Election Supervisors Category to Chhindwara’s Sudhkar Kohli, Balaghat’s D.K. Patle, Hoshangabad’s E.R. Dayma, Ujjain’s R.S. Malviya, Harda’s Ram Niwas Rawat, Bhind’s Amit Mishra, Mandla’s R.K. Kachhwaha, Vidisha’s Syed Ghayasuddin and Satna’s Dwarkendra Singh.

In the BLO Category , CS gave away awards to Krishna Kumar Mohowaiya (Mandla), Sugreev Saket (Rewa), Hari Charan Awasthi (Chhatarpur), Balwant Singh Jamod (Alirajpur), Shahbaz Khan (Alirajpur), Jogendra Tomar (Dhar), Sabulal Dhurve (Hoshangabad), Totaram Lodhi (Bhopal), Ms Manju Bhargava (Bhopal), Khuman Jamara (Alirajpur), Ratan Singh (Sehore) Radharaman Dahiya (Katni), Hemraj Rajput (Sehore), Abhay Kumar Dwivedi (Umaria) and Ashok Prajapati (Narsinghpur).

For outstanding election management, CS presented prizes to CEO Office’s Section Officer Ramnath Singh and Ismail Saifi, System Analyst Amit Shrivastava, Software Engineer Vinjay Deshmukh, Assistant Programmer Prawas Jain and Rajiv Jain and employees including R.P. Purohit, Javed Jameel, Ravi Purohit, Bharat Bhushan Sharma, Mrs. Sujata Chincholkar, Mrs. Kavita P. Rajan, Ravi Purohit, Devidas Patil and Ramlal. Along with District level SVEEP Nodal Officers, anganwadi workers, the CS gave away prizes to winners of various district level competitions at schools and colleges. The Chief Secretary distributed Voter ID Cards to 10 youths. The CS also felicitated State Icon for Voter Awareness Padmashri Prahlad Tippaniya and film actor Rajiv Verma.

Meanwhile, Madhya Pradesh Public Relations, Energy & Mines Minister Rajendra Shukla on the occasion of Voters Day in Rewa presented appreciation certificate in Awareness & Education Value programme to a school student.

Polling vital for strong democracy

Meanwhile, speaking on the occasion Chief Secretary Anthony de Sa described polling as vital for strong democracy. He said that participation of all is necessary to preserve democracy. He said that India is world’s largest democratic republic. Hard work and sense of responsibility are necessary to maintain democratic system.

Highlighting importance of independence, he said that it strengthens democratic system. He said that people should vote fearlessly to protect democracy. In fact, polling shows whether a country is democratic or not. A country can be called democratic when polling is held there in time and people vote impartially and fearlessly. Polling is not only right, but also duty of voter. The Chief Secretary urged people to vote for the sake of society and country. Before polling, they should ascertain where their names have been included in electoral rolls or not. If not, then they must get their names included in voter list. Not only one, but they should discharge their duty by polling in all elections. He also administered pledge of Voters Day.

Mrs. Saleena Singh informed that Voters Day is being observed at all 62 thousand 976 polling stations and district headquarters in the state. She said that under programme to revise electoral rolls, names of 3 lakh 36 thousand persons attaining age of 18 years have been included. Names of 62.20 percent or 4 crore 95 lakh out of total population of the state 7 crore 96 lakh have been included in electoral rolls. Toll-free number 1950 for redressal of complaints and helpline and website to assist voters are being operated. Voters facilitation centres are operational in all 230 Vidhan Sabha constituencies. Mobile numbers of about one crore 25 lakh voters have been collected. Bhopal Divisional Commissioner B.P. Singh read out the message of Chief Election Commissioner Dr. Nasim Zaidi.

Joint Chief Electoral Officer S.S. Bansal proposed a vote of thanks. Earlier, the CS inaugurated and inspected exhibition ‘Indian Elections: A Major Democratic Process’. Collector Nishant Warwade and large number of officers, distinguished citizens and students were present on the occasion.

Meanwhile, the state government has declared Anil Mathur, Director in Department of Public Relation, Madhya Pradesh, as ex-officio Additional Secretary Public Relations in addition to his existing responsibilities. Order in this regard has been issued. ([email protected])