Supreme Court Gets 5 More Judges, Taking Strength To 28

New Delhi: Five new Supreme Court judges were today sworn in, taking the top court’s strength to 28, including the Chief Justice of India. Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Navin Sinha, Mohan M Shantanagoudar, Deepak Gupta and S Abdul Nazeer were administered the oath of office by CJI J S Khehar this morning.

Justice Kaul was the Chief Justice of Madras High Court. He had previously served as Chief Justice of the Punjab and Haryana High Court and a judge at the Delhi High Court.

Justice Sinha was the Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court. He had previously served as a judge at the Patna High Court and the Chattisgarh High Court

Justices Shantanagoudar was the Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court. Previously, he was a judge at the Karnataka High Court as well as president of the Bangalore Mediation Centre and Karnataka Judicial Academy.

Justice Deepak Gupta were the chief justices of Chhattisgarh High Court. He had taken oath as the first Chief Justice of Tripura High Court in March, 2013.

Justice Nazeer was a judge in the Karnataka High Court.

The sanctioned strength of judges in the Supreme Court is 31, including the Chief Justice.

President Pranab Mukherjee had recently signed their Warrants of Appointment.