Struggle commit demand arrest of “killers” of Rohith Vemula

Solidarity Struggle Committee for Justice to Rohith Vemula here on Monday demanded that the State government implement National SC Commission’s orders.

Solidarity Struggle Committee for Justice to Rohith Vemula which organized a meeting in Prakasam Hall at Gandhi Bhavan demanded that the government order arrest of Hyderabad Central University Vice-Chancellor Apparao Podile, Union ministers Bandaru Dattatraya and Smriti Irani MLC Ramchandar Rao, ABVP leader Sushil Kumar, who were responsible for the suicide of research scholar Rohit Vemula under SC/ST (Prevention) of Atrocities Act.

Addressing the meeting, Dr Anand has opined that the TRS government, which wrested power by the sacrifices of thousands of people, was ruling against the interests of the people by being in hand in glove with BJP government at the Centre. Teesta Setalvad said the uprisings now seen at an all Indian level are the result of the hindutva-fascist ruling and its casteist and authoritarian rule. She called upon the people to see that Apparao, Dattatreya, Ramchander Rao are arrested.

Dr KY Ratnam has condemned the attitude of TRS government towards Rohith’s issue. Laxmaiah Bandaru, President, KNPS, who presided over the meeting, said the TRS government has been anti-Dalit. He also condemned the “pro-upper caste” attitude of the TRS. Abhinav Buram of KNPS has said TRS which came to power with Telangana struggle against the Coastal Andhra capitalists was now siding with the Kamma capitalists, who are killers of Rohith Vemula.

Rohith’s mother Radhika Vemula said, “If Modi has sincerity towards Ambedkar, he should first arrest the VC, who is the killer of Rohith”. Dr Laxminarayana charged the TRS government with mortgaging the self-respect of Telangana people. Dr Surepally, Dr Anupama, Dr Tathgatha, Dr Vijay, Dr Durga Bhavani, Dr C. Kashim and U. Sambasivarao also spoke.

Representative from KNPS, DSU, CMS, TSA, SIO, CLC, JAC UoH, TVV, PDM, Virasam, TDF, TPF, SC/ST Officers Forum, JVSS, PAV, AMA have expressed solidarity with the dharna demanding immediate arrest of HCU VC Apparao, Bandaru Dattatreya, Ramchandra Rao and Smrithi Irani.    (NSS)