SP nominates Amar Singh for Rajya Sabha

Lucknow: The Samajwadi Party (SP) on Tuesday nominated former party leader Amar Singh for a Rajya Sabha seat.

Party leader and state Cabinet Minister Shiv Pal Singh Yadav announced the names of seven party candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections scheduled for next month.

The other six names are recently rejoined Samajwadi party former Union Minister Beni Prasad Verma , Revati Raman Singh, Vishawmbhar Prasad Nishad, Sukhram Singh Yadav, Arvind Pratap Singh and Lucknow based builder Sanjay Seth.

According to reports, earlier in the party Parliamentary Board meeting in the state capital, inclusion of Amar Singh’s name was heatedly debated and two senior leaders Ram Gopal Yadav and Azam Khan opposed his name.

Later it was decided that party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav would take final decision on this issue. (ANI)