Six-member interim Pakistan cabinet takes oath

Islamabad: A six-member interim cabinet, led by Pakistan’s caretaker prime minister Justice (retired) Nasir-ul-Mulk, took oath at the President’s House here on Tuesday.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered oath of office to former State Bank of Pakistan governor Shamshad Akhtar, former Pakistan ambassador to the United Nations Abdullah Hussain Haroon, former senator Roshan Khursheed Bharucha, Mohammad Yousuf Sheikh, Mohammad Azam Khan, and Syed Ali Zafar, reports Geo TV.

Haroon is likely be Pakistan’s interim foreign minister, while Khan is expected to head the Interior Ministry.

Akhtar is likely to be Pakistan’s interim Finance Minister, while Zafar is expected to be appointed Law Minister.

Khurshid is likely to be the Education Minister, while Yousaf will be the Information Minister, the Express Tribune”>Express Tribune quoted sources, as saying.

Former Chief Justice of Pakistan (retd.) Nasir-ul-Mulk was sworn-in as the seventh caretaker prime minister of Pakistan on June 1.

Mulk took oath after the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government completed its five-year constitutional term on May 31.

On May 28, Justice Mulk’s name for the post of the caretaker prime minister was announced by the leader of opposition Khursheed Shah and former Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.

This is the first time in Pakistan’s electoral history that a national government has completed its full five-year term twice since 2008. (ANI)