Sindhu retains Macau Open title

Indian shuttler P.V. Sindhu successfully defended her Macau Open Grand Prix Gold women’s singles title, beating South Korean Kim Hyo Min in straight games at the Tap Seac Multisport Pavilion here Sunday.

Two-time World Championships bronze medallist Sindhu registered a comprehensive 21-12, 21-17 victory in 45 minutes in the final of the $120,000 event.

Playing against the World No.91 Kim for the first time, the Indian World No.11 won the first game with ease.

After a brief tussle till the nine-point mark, Sindhu upped the ante and grabbed five straight points before sealing the game by taking six successive points. She pressurised Kim with aggressive play and won the game 21-12.

Kim improved her game but failed to stop a determined Sindhu from winning the second game.

The South Korean matched Sindhu shot by shot and enjoyed a 11-8 lead. After the two-minute break, however, Sindhu regained her focus and collected five points on the trot.

The 18-year-old Kim battled hard to equalise at 13-all before the Hyderabadi again went on the offensive and bagged four straight points to hold a 17-13 lead.

The South Korean was forced to pull things back and did well to reduce the deficit to one at 16-17.

However, Sindhu kept her cool and sealed the game in her favour by taking three successive points. The 19-year-old Indian won the second game 21-17.

This win marked Sindhu’s third Grand Prix title triumph.

In the men’s singles competition, Xue Song defeated Wong Wing Ki Vincent 16-21, 21-13, 21-19 in an hour and four minutes.

In the men’s doubles final, Singapore’s pair of Danny Bawa Chrisnanta and Chayut Triyachart edged Indonesian team of Angga Pratama and Ricky Karanda Suwardi 21-19, 22-20 in 43 minutes.

While Chinese women’s doubles pairing of Ou Dongini and Xiaohan Yu won 19-21, 21-19, 21-9 in an hour and five minutes against compatriot Yaqiong Huang and Zhong Quanxin, Chrisnanta and Yu Yan Vaneesa Neo settled for a runners-up finish in the mixed doubles event.

The Singaporean pair lost to Indonesian pair of Edi Subaktiar and Gloria Emanuelle Widjaja 15-21, 30-29, 20-22 in a marathon encounter that lasted an hour and 16 minutes.