Siddipet: Congress, TD candidates lose deposits

Sangareddy, July 31: It was once bitten thrice shy for the Congress in Siddipet Assembly segment where the party lost its deposit for the third successive term. For TDP candidate and popular comedian P Babumohan, this was the lowest number of votes that he secured since his entry into active politics. He could get about 5000 votes.

From the beginning voters in Siddipet always stood by the family members of TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao. Chandrasekhar Rao won from here from 1985 to 1999 as TDP candidate.

In 2001 he won the bypolls on TRS ticket.

In 2004 he contested from Siddipet Assembly and Karimnagar Lok Sabha seats and won both.

He quit Siddipet and in the bypolls that followed Harish Rao, his nephew, was given the seat.

Ever since Harish Rao was not only winning the seat but improving his majority and now he set a new record in the state.