Shiv Sena welcomes COEAI’s decision to ban films with Pak artistes

Mumbai (Maharashtra): The Shiv Sena has welcomed the decision of the Cinema Owners Exhibitors Association of India (COEAI) not to allow the release of films starring Pakistani artistes and suggested the supporters the latter to pick up arms and go to the battle field.

“It is a welcome move. And if they have taken this in the spirit of nationality and the spirit of nationalism and in the spirit that we are Indians, it is not the duty of the army but it is also responsibility of every citizen to sacrifice something for the country. If they have taken the decision with this effect, it is really welcomed,” said Shiv Sena leader Manisha Kayande.

“I would request all those people or we expect all these people who are supporting Pakistan and Pakistani actors and those who that feel actors and cricketers are above all and they have no boundaries and no limitation then why not take guns in your hand and go to the battle field,” she added.

An association of single-screen cinemas on Friday refused to screen movies starring Pakistan artistes in Maharashtra, Gujarat, Karnataka and Goa, dealing a blow to Karan Johar’s upcoming Diwali release “Ae Dil Hai Mushkil” that features Pakistani actor Fawad Khan.

The decision taken by the COEAI mainly covers single-screen theatres and comes amid tension between India and Pakistan in the aftermath of last month’s Uri attack.

COEAI president Nitin Datar yesterday said that the decision was not taken due to any political pressure, adding the association was keeping “patriotic feelings” of the people in mind.

“The COEAI has decided that keeping in mind the patriotic feelings and the national interest of our country, all our members and exhibitors will refrain from screening movies that have involvement of any Pakistani artiste, technicians, directors, music directors etc,” he told the media.

“Our association has several members, including single-screen theatres and few multiplexes. Our members are based in Maharashtra, Gujarat and parts of Goa and Karnataka,” he added. (ANI)