Sharmila Tagore among three appointed as BCCC member

New Delhi: Film actress Sharmila Tagore, theatre activist Arundhati Nag and film studies academician Ira Bhaskar have been appointed new members of Broadcasting Content Complaints Council (BCCC), the self-regulatory body which hears complaints against TV content.

According to a statement released here, the Board of Directors of Indian Broadcasting Federation (IBF) headed by Star India chairman Uday Shankar has approved these appointments for a term of three years in the eminent persons’ category in place.

The tenure of three other members retired IAS officer Bhaskar Ghose, actor Shabana Azmi and journalist Vir Sanghvi, had drawn to a close recently.

The three Members, associated with BCCC since its inception in 2011, were given a warm send-off at the Council’s 58th meeting held today under the chairmanship of Justice (Retd) Mukul Mudgal, the statement added.