Shahid Kapoor, Farhan Akhtar excited for `Raju aur Pappu` reunion at IIFA2016

New Delhi : The most spectacular celebration of Indian Cinema worldwide, IIFA Weekend & Awards are all set to take place in Madrid, Spain this year from 23rd to 26th June, and the talented and funny duo of Farhan Akhtar and Shahid Kapoor will be returning to enthral the audience with their extraordinary camaraderie.

It’s no surprise that this year’s IIFA awards are going to be quite an extravaganza with ‘Raju’ and ‘Pappu’!

At the announcement press conference for the Videocon D2H IIFA Weekend & NEXA IIFA Awards in New Delhi, the multitalented actor Farhan Akhtar said that he can’t wait to share the stage with Shahid Kapoor, with whom he shares a great rapport and has hosted the 13th as well as 15th IIFA Awards in Singapore and Tampa Bay respectively. Commenting on their chemistry, the ‘Rock On 2’ actor said, “This is the third year and I do promise you that both of us will be toiling hard to make sure it is an entertaining experience. There is a certain ease that we have and a very great chemistry. Shahid and me had a great time hosting twice before this, so it’s going to be a reunion of Raju and Pappu”.

The duo had put up an interesting show as hosts of the gala in 2012 and 2014 and had christened each other with nicknames- Raju aur Pappu.

Shahid Kapoor had previously admitted that he had the most fun hosting the 13th edition of IIFA Awards in 2012 with the ‘Wazir’ star and added that he has “awesome memories” from that time.

Speaking about IIFA Awards being hosted in Spain, Farhan admitted that he is really excited to host the event and to go to Madrid as it is one of his favourite “go-to” destinations as well as he also starred in Spain-set road trip movie ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’.

“I have fond memories of being in Spain especially having shot my movie ‘Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara’. Even now when I plan my holidays I prefer going to Spain. It is a different experience and I am so happy that the country is hosting this year’s IIFA,” he said.

The awards ceremony will witness stellar performances by Bollywood A-listers like Priyanka Chopra, Deepika Padukone, Salman Khan, Hrithik Roshan and Sonakshi Sinha among others. (ANI)